Speaking My Truth is Harder Than I Thought…

Ada J. Raven
2 min readApr 18, 2019

--

Picture by Jakob Owens via Unsplash

Not because I don’t want to tell the truth.

I do.

But when I think of “speaking my truth”, I start wondering how much (or how little) I should be sharing.

Here are the questions I typically ask myself before I share anything:

  1. Is this TMI?
  2. Am I going to regret this later?
  3. Who cares about this information?
  4. What is my ‘journey’?
  5. Is it going to help people?

I’m also thinking, “God, I don’t want to edit this”, because I’m scared I won’t post it.

On the other hand, I know I should, but I know I’m going to hate it when I read it again.

“Is this TMI?… Who cares about this information?… Is it going to help people?… “

And then I’m going to trash it. Then I’ll hate myself for chickening out again.

This is the reality of my blog.

I want to write, but I’m uncertain about my blogging skills.

I once heard David Bowie say it’s not always fun gutting himself to write his music.

It’s more of a need. There’s simply no other option.

That’s how I feel about writing.

Songs, posts, articles… doesn’t matter. I must write.

And as Lady Gaga once said, “Must I create? I must. And if I must create, what is it that I must say?”.

I don’t know what I must say yet.

But I’m hoping my exploration of this helps someone other than me.

Originally published at https://thatsinginveganchick.com on April 18, 2019.

--

--