Ada J. Raven
1 min readJan 3, 2021

--

Sorry, but no. Speaking as a biracial woman, there’s so much wrong with your statement, and it is absolutely personal.

Pretending we’re “not black” so we can come across as more palatable to white people, particularly white men, is so tired. The latter group in particular seems to think the rest of the world should casually accept being receptacles for their passive aggression, hatred, and insecurities.

People like myself, Meghan Markle, and other woman of color now have the right to push back without being slapped into to silence, and we’re going to do it. Our experiences are our experiences. They’re not up for debate.

It’s not her responsibility to make you feel comfortable with her black mother or her biracial existence. Just like it’s not my job to press my hair and look less black because I can. And yes, that atrocious sh*t has been said to me before.

It’s not a compliment, it’s not a solution, it’s bigotry. Plain and simple.

That’s not a chip on my shoulder; that’s your foot on my neck. — Malcolm X

--

--