Let’s Not Talk About It

Prose by Ada J. Raven

Ada J. Raven
1 min readJun 5, 2021

TW: graphic self-harm imagery

Photo by Sarah Kilian on Unsplash

Let’s not talk about my highs and lows.

Not because they shouldn’t be spoken of,

but because the way you talk of them is painful to me.

I am doing the best I can with what I have right now,

and your words cut deeper than I ever thought possible.

I still love you very much,

while at the moment it’s clouded by loathing for myself.

Imagine words are knives and I already have several.

They’re blunted with use and I have to press hard to make a cut.

You, in your frustration, present me with new knives.

I throw mine to the side and take up yours;

I will eventually blunt these, too, and await the arrival of new ones.

Like Prometheus’s liver, my skin grows back

but always scarred and gnarled.

You cannot punish me harder than I punish myself.

I will prove it to you.

So let’s not talk about it.

--

--